Lawrence Medalists

The Ellis F. Lawrence Medal is awarded each year by the dean and the faculty of the UO College of Design to a distinguished alumnus or alumna. Recipients are individuals whose professional and personal achievements embody the integrity, educational philosophy, and commitment to their chosen fields as exemplified by Lawrence, an outstanding teacher, leader, and nationally respected architect. Lawrence served as dean for 32 years from the founding of the school in 1914.

Nominations for the Ellis F. Lawrence Medal are accepted year-round from faculty, staff, and alumni. Each fall term, the Faculty Advisory Committee (FAC) reviews nominations. The FAC forwards a list of finalists to the Dean of the College of Design at the end of each calendar year for consideration. The selected recipient will receive the Lawrence Medal at the College of Design commencement ceremony in June and will serve as the keynote speaker. 

Nominate Lawrence Medalist Now

For more information about the artist behind the medal, visit /artist-behind-lawrence-medal.

Recipients of the Ellis F. Lawrence Medal

2024  Robert Arrigoni, BArch '61 
2023  Jean C. Carroon, BA ’79, MArch ‘86 
2022  Edmund J. Cain, Jr., MA ’70 
2020  Susan Dolan, BLA ’94, MLA ’96 
2018  Wilson W. Smith, III, BArch ’80 
2017  William Leddy, ’75 and Marsha Maytum, ‘77 
2016  Jerome Silbergeld '72 
2015  Gail Dubrow '80 
2014  Robert Gamblin '70 
2013  David Ping-yee Lung '74, MArch '78 
2012  Ranachith (Ronnie) Yimsut '88 
2011  Clifford S. Ackley, '59 
2010  Fred Koetter, FAIA, '63 
2009  Joe Hutshing, '80 
2008  Tinker Hatfield, '77 
2007  Julia Demichelis, '91 
2006  Howard Backen, '62 
2005  Rick Mather, RIBA, ‘61 
2004  Peter Rothschild, FASLA, ’74, MLA '75 
2003  James B. Cuno ’78 
2002  Margo Grant Walsh ’60 
2001  Elisabeth Walton Potter ’60 
2000  Gordon W. Gilkey ’36 
1999  James F. Ivory ’51 
1998  Johnpaul Jones, FAIA, ‘67